Graphic 45 Design Team Audition (project 3 of 6)

“Angels & Pears” altered board book by Cherri Robbthis was the beginning of angels & pears.  By now I probably have two dozen stamps of both angels & pears!  Wow, this book brings back fun memories … it was a very popular class I taught several times in 2006.  My original design was just for myself in 2005, but everyone wanted to do one too!!!

  1. this six spread altered book features "Wild Asparagus" papers. The buttons on the cover are vintage.

  2. close up of buttons ... buttons, buttons, I love buttons!

  3. "when pigs fly" ... this patent-free image was given to me by a student. each spread features ... yes, an angel and a pear. The pears are stamps colored with embossing ink in multiple colors, then lots & lots of ultra-thick powder.

  4. each spread has a pocket & tag ... the back of the tags all have dictionary definitions of words relevant to ... what else ... angels & pears!

  5. I love the effect of this transparency layered over flower printed paper to provide the color to the black & white image.

  6. dream a little dream ... with layers of lace on paper with rounded corners to match the board book. the edges of the book are glazed then distressed.

  7. friends are angels who lift us to our feet ...

  8. when our spirit has trouble remembering how to fly (anon) ... need I say more?

  9. back cover edge features the 'blanket stitch"

  10. last, but not least ... I would like to thank all my students for their encouragement ... May God bless you all!

###

Leave a Reply

